Chrome Sync

Can I sync my bookmarks and browser preferences on my laptop and desktop computer?

With Chrome Sync's sign-in feature, you no longer need to fret about your bookmarks or apps being "stuck" on one computer. When you sign in to the Chrome browser or a Chrome device, your bookmarks, passwords, extensions, apps, theme, and other browser preferences are saved and synced to your Google Account. You can then load these settings anytime you use Chrome on other computers or devices.

Signing in to Chrome


How do I sign in to Chrome Sync on my laptop or desktop?

Make sure you sign in to Chrome on each computer that should share the same Chrome settings.

Note: Remember, do not set up Chrome Sync with your Google Account on a public computer. When you set up Chrome with your Google Account, a copy of your data (bookmarks, passwords, Internet history, extensions, and preferences) is stored on the computer and can be accessed by other users on the same computer.
  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Click the Chrome menu  on the browser toolbar.
  3. Select Sign in to Chrome.
  4. Sign in using your Simmons email address and password.

    Please note that you should use the short form of your email address, i.e. username@simmons.edu, and not the firstname.lastname@simmons.edu address to sign in.

  5. In the "Confirm Sync Preferences" dialog that appears, choose what you want to sync.
    1. Sync everything: Click the "OK, sync everything" button.
    2. Choose specific items to sync: Click "Advanced" and select "Choose what to sync" from the drop down menu. Select the checkboxes for the items you want to sync.
      1. Apps from the Chrome Web Store
      2. Autofill (except for credit card numbers)
      3. Bookmarks
      4. Extensions from the Chrome Web Store (except those containing plug-ins)
      5. Omnibox History
      6. Passwords
      7. Themes
      8. Open tabs
      9. Settings
  6. Click OK.
How do I disconnect Chrome from Chrome Sync?

Note: Disconnecting Chrome from Chrome Sync will prevent Chrome from syncing future changes to bookmarks, passwords, extensions, history, and preferences on this computer, but does not delete the data that has already been synced and stored.

To disconnect your Google Account from Chrome and disable sync entirely, follow these instructions on each computer where you've signed in to Chrome. Your data (bookmarks, passwords, history, extensions, preferences) won't be deleted from your computer or from your Google Account, but changes you make will no longer show up on your other computers or be saved in your Google Account.
  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Click the Chrome menu  on the browser toolbar.
  3. Select Signed in as <your email address>.
  4. In the "Sign in" section, click Disconnect your Google Account.
  5. Click Disconnect account in the confirmation dialog.
How do I delete Chrome Sync data that's already been stored on my computer?

When you sync your account, your Chrome data (bookmarks, passwords, history, extensions, preferences) is pulled from where it's stored on your Google Account and then stored locally on your computer. For assistance removing this data from Chrome, please contact the Service Desk by calling 617-521-2222 or by visiting http://servicedesk.simmons.edu/getsupport/general.

How do I delete Chrome Sync data that is stored in my Google Account?

When you sync your account, your Chrome data (bookmarks, passwords, history, extensions, preferences) is stored in your Google Account so that it may be synced to different computers and devices. For assistance removing this data from your Google Account, please contact the Service Desk by calling 617-521-2222 or by visiting http://servicedesk.simmons.edu/getsupport/general.

Can I set up Chrome Sync on a mobile device?

Yes! For instructions on how to sign in to Chrome Sync on an iPhone, iPad, or Android device, see these Chrome mobile setup instructions. Chrome Sync for mobile devices is only available on devices that have a mobile version of Chrome installed.